Annual Prizes and Awards

President's Poster Prizes

Two Prizes are awarded to BAP Training Members at the annual Summer Meeting, reviewed by the BAP President.

Due to the cancellation of the Summer Meeting there will be no poster prizes awarded for 2020.

Winners are selected on the following criteria:

  • The quality of the science, the merit of hypothesis being tested, the suitability of the experimental approach adopted, the quality of the experimental results and the analysis and interpretation of the data presented.
  • The clarity with which the information is presented, based both on the published abstract and the final poster. Discussion with the poster presenter, where this is possible, is also taken into account.

The Honorary General Secretary will consider likely conflicts of interest and then delegate to a number of BAP Council Members who will review nominations for the various awards. Where a BAP Council Member is requested to review a prize in which a conflict of interest arises for them (e.g. a former PhD student has been nominated) they will excuse themselves from the process and another Council Member will be asked to replace them.

Whilst Council members are not prohibited from applying for prizes, the Honorary General Secretary additionally seeks the endorsement of one of the Presidents (current, immediate past or elect), according to their expertise, and who does not have a direct conflict of interest, before any such prize is awarded to a Council Member.

2019 winner(s)

2019 Winners: Shana Silverstein and Yumeya Yamamori
2019 Winners: Shana Silverstein and Yumeya Yamamori

Previous Winner(s)

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012