Annual Prizes and Awards

BAP Public Communication Prizes

The BAP Public Communication Prizes are awarded annually to reward excellence in both clinical and non-clinical science communication to the public in the area of psychopharmacology.

There are two prizes of £200, one for Training Members and one for Early Career/Full Members. Applications should be made by individuals who have contributed to public engagement during the preceding year and should include a short curriculum vitae and summary of contribution, with hyperlinks where appropriate. Applications are reviewed by a panel of BAP Council members. The awards are presented at the conference dinner at the annual Summer Meeting.

Examples of appropriate contributions are:

  • Articles for the public posted on the BAP website
  • Blog activity (psychopharmacology content)
  • Contributions to science festivals and other public events
  • Magazine or web-based articles
  • Television appearances
  • Radio programmes / podcasts

* In line with the BAP aims

The Honorary General Secretary will consider likely conflicts of interest and then delegate to a number of BAP Council Members who will review nominations for the various awards. Where a BAP Council Member is requested to review a prize in which a conflict of interest arises for them (e.g. a former PhD student has been nominated) they will excuse themselves from the process and another Council Member will be asked to replace them.

Whilst Council members are not prohibited from applying for prizes, the Honorary General Secretary additionally seeks the endorsement of one of the Presidents (current, immediate past or elect), according to their expertise, and who does not have a direct conflict of interest, before any such prize is awarded to a Council Member.


The closing date is: 31st May 2020

2019 winner(s)

2019 Winners: Joe Barnby and Camilla Nord
2019 Winners: Joe Barnby and Camilla Nord

Previous Winner(s)

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013